You Anoint My Head With Oil, My Cup Runs Over

You AnnointTODAY WE LEFT THE SWELTERING HEAT of Tennessee and began our journey back home through Missouri, from where I presently write. This evening, after driving through constant and heavy freeway traffic and dodging a multitude of freight trucks, we relax in little Smithville outside of Kansas City.

In the cool of this evening we look out over a hayfield and hear numerous bird calls, crickets, and only distant traffic and an occasional jet—an oasis of rest after two weeks of helping our son and his family move from Spokane, Washington to Nashville. Not exactly an easy time since they still do not have a place to live besides their fifth wheel trailer, nor do they have paying jobs, and school starts for their two little kiddos on August 3.

I’m reminded of King Solomon’s words, “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven” Ecc 3:1. My heart aches over the faith trial our kids must go through, yet I remember our own relocation from Washington to Alaska seventeen years ago. Following that difficult time, I wrote in my prayer journal:

Dear Shepherd,
We bow our heads before You and the oil of joy fills our hearts to overflowing. I sing the words of André Crouch, “How can I say thanks for all the things You have done for me, things so undeserved….”

You were with us as we lumbered along in our 26 foot, ’87 GMC truck winding through deepening autumn foliage and magnificent mountain passes, past tranquil lakes and turquoise rivers. Your glaciers ribboned between rocky cliffs that rose into vast cloud formations. You brought us from Salem, Oregon through British Columbia, the Yukon Territories, and Alaska. Our journey finally came to an end at 1:00 a.m. Friday, September 9, 1999. You were still with us when our truck made that one last groan as it cranked up the steep driveway of Jami’s duplex in Anchorage.

In all the following days of unloading, unpacking, arranging, and rearranging, You never left us. You made a way where there seemed to be no way in the weeks of job hunting and ministry seeking. November 29 You gave Conrad a new ministry as Resource Center Coordinator at our new church.

You led, guided, encouraged, provided, and kept Your promise to go ahead of us. You crowned us with loving kindness and tender mercies. The process was not easy. We did not smile through every trial. We did not understand or like everything You did or did not do. Yet, I bow before You now and the oil of joy runs from my head to my heart with overflowing praise and thanksgiving. “For Your Name’s sake” You poured out Your grace to us and we must tell what You have done. Yes André, TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

I gaze across the open field tonight to a deepening blue sky. I long to come to an end of this earthly journey and enter our final and glorious home. Yet, hymns of praise drift through my mind these days.

I love Fanny Crosby’s words, “All the way my Savior leads me; What have I to ask beside? Can I doubt His tender mercy, Who thro’ life has been my guide? Heav’nly peace divinest comfort, Here by faith in Him to dwell! For I know whate’er befall me, Jesus doeth all things well. . . .”

John W. Peterson’s words join in, “Some day life’s journey will be o’er And I shall reach that distant shore; I’ll sing while ent’ring heaven’s door, ‘Jesus led me all the way. Jesus led me all the way, Led me step by step each day;’ I will tell the saints and angels as I lay my burdens down, ‘Jesus led me all the way.'”

What sweet comfort! He anoints my head with the oil of joy and my cup runs over because God’s promises are true for me, for my children, and for you. We can rejoice in our victories today and in confidence of our coming redemption!

A WEALTHY PLACE

I praise You, my God!
I shout my gratitude:
You are the Giver and Keeper of my life,
You make me an overcomer.
You test me;
You bring trouble upon me
To reveal the wickedness of my heart,
And to cleanse and purify it
As bright silver reflecting Your loveliness.
You force me to remain in hard circumstances,
You use people to ride over me,
To break my will to Your will.
You take me through painful experiences,
But You refine me
And bring me safely through.
You reveal Yourself to me
Through these circumstances.
Indeed a wealthy place!
Therefore, I will keep my commitment to You
And be strong to trust You.
To all who will listen,
I will tell what You have done for me.

—MarJean S. Peters, personalized from Psalm 66:8-16

One thought on “You Anoint My Head With Oil, My Cup Runs Over

  1. MarJean, your posts touch a deep place in my spirit. Your confident trust in the midst of many of life’s big challenges, your ability to praise God for the “oil of gladness” in the midst of trial, challenge me in my own walk of faith. Thank you for sharing your journey. I love you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment