In The Morning

Autumn FrostLIFE comes riddled with fall-downs and get-ups, bumps and bruises, fears and tears. Each road challenges us in every way. Yet, the Holy Spirit woos and guides us through each precarious step in this dark world until we see Jesus. Until then, we only catch glimpses of His glory.

I noted in Exodus that God promised to show Israel His glory. Only a short time after leaving Egypt, they grumbled, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt!… You have brought us out into the desert to starve this entire assembly to death” (Exodus 16:3). God responded, “In the morning you will see the glory of the Lord… then you will know that I am the Lord your God” (Exodus 16:7,12). The next morning “when the dew was gone, thin flakes like frost on the ground appeared on the desert floor” (Exodus 16:14).

I remember grumbling one afternoon in my college library when I felt frustrated, angry, and needed to blow my stack! But, one cannot do that in a college library. So… I took my notebook and pen and began to write… to the Lord. Words flowed out of my heart and onto the paper in a torrent of hurt and desperation. On and on the words streamed until only a trickle coursed to the Throne of Grace. While I wrote, He granted bread from heaven—a glimpse of His glory to quiet my heart with His presence, love, and understanding.

Over the last fifty years, I found that sweet manna available to me over and over again. My relational journey with Jesus lies recorded in stacks of wire-bound notebooks. Yet, far more important, His words flow from the Scriptures into the pages of my prayer/Bible journals and mingle with my thoughts, feelings, desires, needs, and longings. His words change my attitudes, values, focus, and priorities.

 

It occurred to me one day how a blind person learns to love someone they cannot see. Time spent together familiarizes the sound of their voice, the fragrance of their hair, and the touch of their hands. They learn to “see” with their other senses. Jesus told Thomas, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed” (John 20:29). Moses “persevered because he saw him who is invisible. By faith…” (Hebrews 11:27-28). Yes, we walk by faith through this dark earth place, yet see the invisible One through spiritual senses. He reveals Himself to us through His amazing creation and infallible Word. When we withdraw ourselves from earthly distractions and silence our noisy hearts, we recognize His still small voice.

The conviction and comfort of His Holy Spirit cleanses and empowers us for this journey. The sweet taste of His Word and pure fragrance of His presence permeates our lives “among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing” (2Corinthians 2:15). We know Him because we converse, cry, and laugh together. Sometimes we just sit in silence, aware of each other’s presence. When we stand before Him face-to-face, the familiarity of our relationship will banish all fear.

I recently watched a video of a bride sing a song by Brendan Graham to her bridegroom. I sing it to my heavenly bridegroom:

When I am down, and, oh, my soul, so weary

When troubles come, and my heart burdened be

Then, I am still and wait here in the silence

Until you come and sit awhile with me

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains

You raise me up to walk on stormy seas

I am strong when I am on your shoulders

You raise me up to more than I can be.

My journey brightens and my load lightens when I position myself to receive His love, wisdom, and counsel. To prayer journal requires no literary ability, only a heart’s desire to communicate joys, sorrows, disappointments, hopes, and dreams with our Savior, Redeemer, and Friend. We glimpse His glory and find nourishment in the manna of His Word when we ask His Holy Spirit to grant understanding and apply His truth to our lives.

Today my Bible journaling from Proverbs 12 reads:

12:1 He who hates correction is stupid. O Lord, please may I not hate correction. Please deliver me from my pride, for with humility comes wisdom (Proverbs 11:2).

12:15 The way of a fool seems right to him, but a wise man listens to advice. I often think I’m right. Please humble me to embrace wise counsel and advice.

12:16 A fool shows his annoyance at once, but a prudent man overlooks an insult.” Oh wow! This is me—showing my annoyance at once. Please forgive, cleanse, and change me. Please give me grace to give grace.

12:18 Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing. Consequences of my reckless words continue to pierce my heart. Please open my mouth with wisdom and make my tongue the law of kindness (Proverbs 31:26).

12:26 “A righteous man is cautious in friendship.” Lord, I don’t want to use this for an excuse not to reach out to others, but in my neediness, may I be discretionary.

When I prayer/Bible journal, the enemy cannot steal away God’s personally documented words to me. And, like the hymn, when I turn my eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face, the things of earth grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace. Jesus says, “Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done” (Revelation 22:12). Be encouraged, in the morning we will see the glory of the Lord (Exodus 16:11).

8 thoughts on “In The Morning

  1. Dear Jeannie,

    Thank you for your wonderful words of wisdom and encouragement in my spiritual growth. I love what you shared in your journaling. You are such a treasure in my life. I can hardly wait to see you and spend some time with you next week. Love you dearly.

    Karen p.s. your leaf picture is beautiful!

    On Thu, Sep 28, 2017 at 5:11 PM, Walking in the Vine Light wrote:

    > MarJean Quiring Peters posted: “LIFE comes riddled with fall-downs and > get-ups, bumps and bruises, fears and tears. Each road challenges us in > every way. Yet, the Holy Spirit woos and guides us through each precarious > step in this dark world until we see Jesus. Until then, we only catch” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too love your leaf drawing, Jeannie. What a beautiful reminder that we need to be renewed and refreshed through God’s Word, and then trust that Word when we are in crisis or need. I love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, dear Carol. Actually, I did not do the “leaf drawing.” I found it on internet images but the frost-tinged leaves seemed appropriate for this time of year as we look forward to renewal. Continued prayers for your complete healing and redemption of the whole painful process. Lots of love!

    Like

  4. Always we will look to our creator and Father who will be with us in all things. We know that He is with us and we know He will be returning soon for us. What a joy you are to everyone who knows you and our Father is very pleased with you His daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful words, as always, Gramma Jeannie. I was so excited when I saw your post in my inbox because your words are so full of wisdom and grace. Jesus used this article to touch my heart right when it needed it most. I love you SO much! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My dear Anna, thank you for your kind, encouraging words. Please pray for me that God will strengthen and inspire me to blog faithfully again. Sermon this morning convicted me to offer my writing as an acceptable sacrifice to the Lord to encourage others. I truly miss and love you!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment